Restore a user’s Google Drive or Gmail data

Restore a user’s Google Drive or Gmail data

You can restore deleted Google Drive files or Gmail messages for one or more users for a date range you specify. This helps ensure that, if a user accidentally deletes important data, that data is not permanently lost.

About restoring user data

Here are some things to consider when restoring deleted data:

  • If a user removes a file in Drive or deletes a message from the Gmail Inbox, the item moves to the Trash, where the user can easily recover the item without needing an administrator to restore the data. When the user or the system empties the Trash, this actually deletes the item. In this case, only the admininstrator can restore the data.
  • You can’t restore messages deleted from Spam.
  • You can’t restore deleted Google My Maps files in Drive.
  • You can restore data for an individual user on that user’s detail page, or for up to 10 users on the Users list page.
  • You can select a date range to restore data from up to 25 days ago. The dates you select reflect the date the message was deleted.
  • If a user provides others with access to any Drive item, when you restore that item, the access is not restored. The user can re-enable access as needed.
  • If your Google Apps account includes Drive storage quotas for users, you can’t restore a user’s Drive data if that user’s Drive is full.
  • For more options for recovering deleted email messages, see Recover deleted Google Apps email messages.

How to restore a user’s data

  1. Sign in to the Google Admin console.
  2. Click Users.
  3. Locate the user in the list and click their name to open their account page. Or, search for the user in the search box.
  4. On the user’s account page, click Settings and choose Restore data.
  5. Select the date range for the data you want to restore.
  6. Select the type of data you want to restore: Drive or Gmail.Note: If you leave the date range fields blank or don’t select a data type, an error message appears.
  7. Click Restore Data.
  8. On the status screen, click Close.
  1. Sign in to the Google Admin console.
  2. Click Users.
  3. Click the image to the left of the name for each user whose data you want to restore.You can select up to 10 users. If you select more than 10, the restore option disappears.
  4. Click Settings and choose Restore data.
  5. Select the date range for the files you want to restore.
  6. Select the type of data you want to restore: Drive or Gmail.Note: If you leave the date range fields blank or don’t select a data type, an error message appears.
  7. Click Restore Data.
  8. On the status screen, click Close.

Confirming data was restored

To confirm that you successfully restored the items, check the user’s Drive folder or Gmail Inbox. Depending on the amount of data you are restoring, it might take some time for restored messages or files to appear.